Ian Luckey - Jetmen Take Flight

from by Game Music 4 All

  • Streaming + Download

    Immediate download of "Jetmen Take Flight" in your choice of 320k mp3, FLAC, or just about any other format you could possibly desire.
    Purchasable with gift card



Ian Luckey is a self-taught pianist and composer from San Diego, specializing in film and videogame soundtracks. Best known in the gaming community for his original score for Mega64: Version 1, Luckey has written music for nine films, composed several choral pieces (including a full-length Requiem), and created a 150-track score for his own videogame project, currently in progress, called Legacy of Magnus. His three biggest influences are Nobuo Uematsu, Yasunori Mitsuda, and Danny Elfman. Even further back, he was inspired by the score to Kirby's Adventure by Jun Ishikawa and Hirokazu Ando.

Currently, his primary musical focus is with his pirate band, The Dread Crew of Oddwood, for which he serves as anglo concertinist, bass vocalist, and co-manager. Forming in fall of 2008, the seven member Celtic rock group is now recording their second studio album, titled Rocktopus. Filled with timeless tales of betrayal, comrades lost, magnificent battles, dangerous journeys, and hilarious antics, it's anticipated for a summer release on July 30, 2010.

Jetmen Take Flight is a cover of Choujin Sentai Jetman's first stage theme. The track is arranged by Ian Luckey, who also plays keyboards. The synth lead itself was run directly through a Nintendo using MIDINES in order to best maintain the classic 8-bit sound. Francis Roberts can be heard on guitars, pingosimon on bass, and Drew Castle Peters on the drums. Photographs appearing in the slide show were taken by Cecilia Polkinhorn.


Ian Luckey は独学で学んだピアニストであり映画とゲーム音楽専門のサンディエゴ出身の作曲家である。Mega64: Version 1の音楽で良く知られており、9個の映画に音楽を書き、いくつかのコーラス曲(フルのレクイエムを含む)を作曲, 現在進行中の自分自身のゲームプロジェクト"Legacy of Magnus"用に150曲を書き上げた。彼に影響を与えた3人の作曲家は、植松伸夫、光田康典、Danny Elfmanである。さらに遡ると、石川淳氏と安藤 浩和氏の『星のカービィ』の音楽にも影響を受けている。

現在の彼のフォーカスは彼のパイレーツバンドであるThe Dread Crew of Oddwoodにあり、そこで彼はアングロコンサーティナ、ベースボーカル、そしてアレンジャーを勤める。2008年の秋に結成した7人のケルトロックグループは現在2枚目のスタジオアルバム"Rocktopus"を録音中である。永遠の物語である、裏切り、仲間の損失、偉大なる戦い、危険な旅、そして笑いを誘う行動等がふんだんに詰まって、2010年の7月31日に待望のリリースを迎える。

Jetmen Take Flightは鳥人戦隊ジェットマンの最初のステージのテーマ曲のカバーである。Ian Luckyによるアレンジで彼はキーボードも弾いている。クラシックな8ビットサウンドを保つため、MIDINESを使って実際にファミコンからシンセのメロはならされている。Francis Roberts がギター、ベースpingosimon、ドラムはDrew Castle Peters。スライドショーの写真はCecilia Polkinhornによって撮影された。



from IWADON: Hiroyuki Iwatsuki Tribute Album, track released July 23, 2010
Composer: Hiroyuki Iwatsuki
Arranger, keyboards: Ian Luckey
Guitars: Francis Roberts
Bass: pingosimon
Drums: Drew Castle Peters
Promotional photos: Cecilia Polkinhorn


all rights reserved



iwadon 東京都, Japan

contact / help

Contact iwadon

Streaming and
Download help

Report this track or account

If you like IWADON: Hiroyuki Iwatsuki Tribute Album, you may also like: